Landeshauptstadt Dresden - 28.07.2015 15:44:57 Uhr 28.05.2016 07:47:22 Uhr

City Council

The City Council is the elected representative body of the citizens of Dresden.

At the local government elections on 7 June 2009, the people of Dresden elected a new City Council with 70 members.
In accordance with the Saxon local government stipulations, the Mayor is at the same time Chairman of the City Council.

City Council of Dresden.
City Council of Dresden. Foto: Heike Großmann

Constitution of the City Council

PartyNumber of seats
CDU 21 seats
DIE LINKE. 15 seats
Alliance 90/The Greens 11 seats
SPD 9 seats
AfD 5 seats
FDP 3 seats
Citizen's Faction 2 seats
NPD 2 seats
Pirates 2 seats

The City Council defines the principles for the administration of the City of Dresden and decides on all matters concerning the city, insofar as the Mayor is not empowered to make decisions either by law or on the basis of a mandate issued by the City Council.

The City Council is entitled to pass resolutions issuing orders to the Mayor, as head of the City Administration, and establishes municipal legislation with its passing of articles and regulations.
Meetings of the City Council are generally held every three weeks.


City of Dresden
Mayor's Office
Dept. for City Council Affairs

Visitor address

City Hall
Dr.-Külz-Ring 19
D-01067 Dresden
2nd floor, room 85

Filterable map

Phone +49-(0)351-4882300
Fax +49-(0)351-4882070

Postal address

Postfach 12 00 20
D-01001 Dresden